List:General Discussion« Previous MessageNext Message »
From:Stefan Hinz Date:January 30 2009 4:17pm
Subject:MySQL University session on February 5: MySQL Performance and
Scalability Project - Issues and Opportunities
View as plain text  
MySQL Performance and Scalability Project - Issues and Opportunities
http://forge.mysql.com/wiki/MySQL_Performance_and_Scalability_Project_-_Issues_and_Opportunities

Next Thursday (February 5th), we're continuing our series of sessions on
MySQL performance measuring and improvements with Allan Packer's
presentation titled MySQL Performance and Scalability Project - Issues
and Opportunities. Allan works in the Performance and Applications
Engineering department at Sun Microsystems, so again, expect to get some
deep insights into the inner workings of the MySQL Server.

Allan is based in Australia, so note that this session will take place
in the morning (Europe) or evening (APAC), respectively.

For MySQL University sessions, point your browser to this page:

http://webmeeting.dimdim.com/portal/JoinForm.action?confKey=mysqluniversity

You need a browser with a working Flash plugin. You may register for a
Dimdim account, but you don't have to.

MySQL University is a free educational online program for
engineers/developers. MySQL University sessions are open to anyone, not
just Sun employees. Sessions are recorded (slides and audio), so if you
can't attend the live session you can look at the recording anytime
after the session.

Here's the schedule for the upcoming weeks (see
http://forge.mysql.com/wiki/MySQL_University for a better format of this
list):

February 5, 2009 	08:00 UTC / 8:00 GMT / 9:00 CET / 11:00 MDT (Moscow) /
13:30 IST (India) / 16:00 CST (Beijing) / 17:00 JST (Tokyo) / 19:00 EDT
(Melbourne) 	MySQL Performance and Scalability Project - Issues and
Opportunities 	Allan Packer

February 12, 2008 	14:00 UTC / 8am CST (Central) / 9am EST (Eastern) /
14:00 GMT / 15:00 CET / 17:00 MDT (Moscow) 	Using DTrace with MySQL 	MC
Brown

February 19, 2009 	14:00 UTC / 8am CST (Central) / 9am EST (Eastern) /
14:00 GMT / 15:00 CET / 17:00 MDT (Moscow) 	Developing MySQL on
Solaris 	MC Brown & Trond Norbye

February 26, 2009 	14:00 UTC / 8am CST (Central) / 9am EST (Eastern) /
14:00 GMT / 15:00 CET / 17:00 MDT (Moscow) 	Backing up MySQL using file
system snapshots 	Lenz Grimmer

March 5, 2009 	14:00 UTC / 8am CST (Central) / 9am EST (Eastern) / 14:00
GMT / 15:00 CET / 17:00 MDT (Moscow) 	Good Coding Style 	Konstantin Osipov

March 12, 2009 	14:00 UTC / 8am CST (Central) / 9am EST (Eastern) /
14:00 GMT / 15:00 CET / 17:00 MDT (Moscow) 	MySQL and ZFS 	MC Brown

The session address (Dimdim URL) for all sessions is:

http://webmeeting.dimdim.com/portal/JoinForm.action?confKey=mysqluniversity

Please bookmark this address, since it will remain valid for all future
MySQL University sessions. Remember, though, that the meeting room will
open only 15 minutes before the session starts.

Dimdim is the conferencing system we're using for MySQL University
sessions. It provides integrated voice streaming, chat, whiteboard,
session recording (slides and voice), and more. All you need to do to
attend MySQL University sessions is point your browser to the address
given above.

All MySQL University sessions are recorded, that is, slides and voice
can be viewed as a Flash file (.flv). You can find those recordings on
the respective MySQL University session pages which are listed on the
MySQL University home page:

http://forge.mysql.com/wiki/MySQL_University

Cheers,

Stefan
-- 
***********************************************************************
Sun Microsystems GmbH        Stefan Hinz
Sonnenallee 1                Manager Documentation, Database Group
85551 Kirchheim-Heimstetten  Phone: +49-30-82702940
Germany                      Fax:   +49-30-82702941
http://www.sun.de/mysql      mailto: stefan.hinz@stripped

Amtsgericht Muenchen: HRB161028
Geschaeftsfuehrer: Thomas Schroeder, Wolfgang Engels, Dr. Roland Boemer
Vorsitzender des Aufsichtsrates: Martin Haering
***********************************************************************
















Thread
MySQL University session on February 5: MySQL Performance andScalability Project - Issues and OpportunitiesStefan Hinz30 Jan